entrance requirements

The 1st Series Festival Basel will take place from 9 to 10 October 2021 in Basel. The association Serienfestival Basel is organising the associated competition 'Cliffhanger 2021', which explores the miniaturisation of serial storytelling. The registration for the competition is open from 15 May to 15 August 2021.

What are ‘cliffhangers’?

The notion ‘cliffhanger’ (with quotation marks) refers to audiovisual series consisting of at least 5 episodes and having a total duration of 35 minutes at most.

A series of 5 episodes, each lasting 7 minutes, is a ‘cliffhanger’. However, neither a series of 3 episodes of 11 minutes each (too few episodes) nor a series of 6 episodes of 6 minutes each (exceeding the time limit of 35 minutes) is a ‘cliffhanger’. A ‘cliffhanger’ is subtitled according to the following rule:

Language Rules and Subtitles

If the language mainly spoken in the series is one of the four Swiss national languages (German, French, Italian or Romansh), the subtitle language may be one of the other three Swiss national languages or English. A ‘cliffhanger’ whose main language is not a Swiss national language must be subtitled in at least one of the four Swiss national languages.

The following table serves to clarify the above rule:

Main language

Subtitle language

 
GermanEnglishallowed
EnglishFrenchallowed
RomanshItalianallowed
ItalianFrenchallowed
Swiss GermanFrenchallowed
Swiss GermanEnglishallowed
SpanishEnglishnot admitted
SpanishGreeknot admitted

It is in the interest of the participants to match the language combination to the target audience.

What are valid competition entries?

A valid competition entry consists of a ‘cliffhanger’, a trailer of 20 seconds maximum duration, two or three still images and an abstract not exceeding 250 words. In addition, the transcribed subtitles must be submitted as a text file.

File formats and codecs

mp4: ProRes 422 or H.264

Submitted material that does not meet the competition requirements will not be entered into the competition. The files relating to rejected entries will be removed from our storage media and participants will be informed accordingly.

Registration and submission of materials

The registration as well as the submission of the corresponding video files and accompanying materials can be done electronically. Up-to-date information on the competition can be found on the website of the Basel Series Festival.

Advertising

The Organizing Committee of the Basel Series Festival may freely use the submitted trailers, stills and abstracts for advertising purposes for the Basel Series Festival 2021. This includes publication in the festival program, in print media and cinemas as well as on the Internet (on the Facebook page and the website of the Series Festival Basel).

The Organizing Committee of the Basel Series Festival may freely use the submitted trailers, stills and abstracts for advertising purposes for the Basel Series Festival 2021. This includes publication in the festival program, in print media and cinemas as well as on the Internet (on the Facebook page and the website of the Series Festival Basel).

Copyright, screening rights and archiving

By submitting their competition entry, participants confirm that no copyrights are infringed upon by the presentation of their ‘cliffhanger’ at the Basel Series Festival. The Verein Serienfestival Basel assumes no liability for any copyright infringements.

For technical reasons, video and audio data entered in the competition will be copied to other data carriers. The Organizing Committee of the Series Festival Basel has no right to show the provided ‘cliffhangers’ in public on occasions different from the Basel Series Festival 2021. The right to present the ‘cliffhangers’ remains with the participants of the competition.

However, the Organizing Committee is free to use the submitted trailers and stills beyond the 2021 series festival, for example in advertising subsequent editions of the Basel series project, provided the participants agree.

The Organizing Committee will archive the competition entries. At the request of the contestants, all video files submitted will be deleted. After the competition has been held, the Basel Series Festival may not advertise against the wishes of the competition participants.

The Series Festival is intent on acting in the interests of the series producers and rights holders and will forward media enquiries directly to the series producers.

Awards

The competition entries are reviewed by a selection committee, which chooses about a dozen ‘cliffhangers’ from the entries received. The shortlisted entries will be shown at the series festival and judged by a jury. The three to five-member jury makes its decision on site and awards the "Big Cliffhanger" (1000 CHF), the audience the "Small Cliffhanger" (500 CHF).

The decisions of the selection committee and the jury cannot be contested.

Further regulations

By registering and submitting competition entries, participants confirm that they have read and that they accept the regulations.

Für die Anwendung des Reglements ist die Festivalleitung des Serienfestivals Basel zuständig.

Basel, 25. März 2021

The German text is legally authoritative. Place of jurisdiction is Basel, Switzerland
(Translation 22.08.2020 | mz)

teilnahmebedingungen

Das 1. Serienfestival Basel findet vom 9. bis 10. Oktober 2021 in Basel statt. Der Verein Serienfestival Basel organisiert den zugehörigen Wettbewerb ‹Cliffhanger 2021›, der die Miniaturisierung des seriellen Erzählens erkundet. Die Anmeldung für den Wettbewerb ist vom 15. Mai bis 15. August 2021 möglich.

Was sind ‹Cliffhanger›?

Unter ‹Cliffhanger› ist eine audiovisuelle Serie gemeint, deren Gesamtzeit höchstens 35 Minuten beträgt und die aus mindestens 5 Episoden besteht.

Eine Serie mit 5 Episoden, die je 7 Minuten dauern, ist ein ‹Cliffhanger›. Eine Serie mit 3 Episoden à 11 Minuten hingegen nicht (zu wenige Episoden) und eine Serie mit 6 Episoden à 6 Minuten ebenfalls nicht (Überschreitung der Gesamtzeit von 35 Minuten). ‹Cliffhanger› sind untertitelt und unterliegen den folgenden Sprach­regelungen:

Sprachregelung und Untertitelung

Ist die in der Serie hauptsächlich gesprochene Sprache eine der vier Schweizer Landes­sprachen (Deutsch, Französisch, Italienisch oder Rätoromanisch), dann darf die Unter­titel­sprache eine der drei anderen Schweizer Landessprachen oder Englisch sein. Ein ‹Cliffhanger›, dessen Hauptsprache keine Schweizer Landessprache ist, muss in mindestens einer Schweizer Landessprache untertitelt sein.

Die folgende Tabelle dient der Verdeutlichung der genannten Regel:

Hauptsprache

Untertitelsprache

 
DeutschEnglischerlaubt
EnglischFranzösischerlaubt
RätoromanischItalienischerlaubt
ItalienischFranzösischerlaubt
SchweizerdeutschFranzösischerlaubt
SchweizerdeutschEnglischerlaubt
SpanischEnglischnicht zugelassen
SpanischGriechischnicht zugelassen

Es ist im Interesse und Ermessen der Teilnehmer*innen, die Sprachkombination auf das anvisierte Zielpublikum abzustimmen.

Was sind gültige Wettbewerbsbeiträge?

Ein gültiger Wettbewerbsbeitrag besteht aus einem ‹Cliffhanger›, einem Trailer von höchstens 20 Sekunden Dauer, zwei oder drei Standbildern und einem Abstract von höchstens 250 Wörtern. Darüber hinaus sind die transkribierten Untertitel als Textdatei einzureichen.

Dateiformate und Codecs

mp4 Komprimierung: ProRes 422 oder H.264.

Eingereichtes Material, das die Wettbewerbsbedingungen nicht erfüllt, wird nicht in den Wettbewerb aufgenommen. Die Dateien zu abgewiesenen Beiträgen werden vernichtet, und die Teilnehmenden werden darüber informiert.

Registrierung/Einreichung der Wettbewerbsbeiträge

Die Registrierung sowie die Einreichung der zugehörigen Video-Dateien erfolgt auf elektronischem Weg. Aktuelle Hinweise zur Abwicklung des Wettbewerbs finden sich auf der Website des Serienfestivals Basel.

Werbung

Das Organisationskomitee des Serienfestivals Basel darf die eingereichten Trailer, Standbilder und Abstracts zu Werbezwecken für das Serienfestival Basel 2021 frei verwenden. Dazu gehört insbesondere die Publikation im Festivalprogramm, in Printmedien und Kinos sowie im Internet (auf der Facebook-Seite und der Website des Serienfestivals Basel).

Das Organisationskomitee darf ferner einen beliebigen, 10 Sekunden dauernden Ausschnitt aus dem eingereichten ‹Cliffhanger› auswählen und im Rahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit verwenden. Dieser Ausschnitt wird nach der Austragung des Wettbewerbs archiviert und nicht mehr öffentlich gezeigt.

Urheberrechte, Vorführrechte und Archivierung

Mit dem Einsenden ihres Wettbewerbsbeitrages bestätigen die Teilnehmenden, dass mit der Vorführung ihres ‹Cliffhanger› am Serienfestival Basel keinerlei Urheberrechte verletzt werden. Der Verein Serienfestival Basel übernimmt keine Haftung für allfällige Urheberrecht- und Copyright-Verletzungen.

Aus vorführungstechnischen Gründen werden die in den Wettbewerb aufgenommenen Video- und Audio-Dateien auf andere Datenträger kopiert. Das Organisationskomitee des Serienfestivals Basel verpflichtet sich, die zur Verfügung gestellten ‹Cliffhanger› ausschliesslich am Serienfestival 2021 öffentlich vorzuführen. Das Vorführrecht der ‹Cliffhanger› bleibt bei den Wettbewerbsteilnehmer*innen.

Hingegen darf das Organisationskomitee die eingereichten Trailer und Standbilder über das Serienfestival 2021 hinaus frei verwenden, so zum Beispiel bei der Werbung für spätere ‹Episoden› des Basler Serienprojekts, wenn die Teilnehmer*innen damit einverstanden sind.

Das Organisationskomitee archiviert die Wettbewerbsbeiträge. Auf Wunsch der Wettbewerbsteilnehmer*innen werden alle eingereichten Video-Dateien gelöscht. Das Serienfestival Basel darf nach der Austragung des Wettbewerbs nicht gegen den Wunsch der Wettbewerbsteilnehmer*innen Werbung machen.

Das Serienfestival ist bedacht, im Interesse der Serienmacher*innen und Rechteinhaber zu handeln und leitet insbesondere Medienanfragen direkt an die Serienmacher*innen weiter.

Wettbewerbspreise

Die Wettbewerbsbeiträge werden von einer Auswahlkommission begutachtet, die unter den eingegangenen Arbeiten ungefähr ein Dutzend ‹Cliffhanger› auswählt. Die Beiträge der Shortlist werden am Serienfestival gezeigt und von einer Jury beurteilt. Die drei- bis fünfköpfige Jury entscheidet vor Ort und vergibt den ‹Grossen Cliffhanger›, das Publikum den ‹Kleinen Cliffhanger›. Die beiden Preise sind mit 1000 CHF beziehungs­weise 500 CHF dotiert.

Die Entscheide der Auswahlkommission und der in geheimer Abstimmung gefällte Jury-Entscheid sind nicht anfechtbar.

Weitere Bestimmungen

Mit der Registrierung und Einreichung von Wettbewerbsbeiträgen bestätigen die Teilnehmer*innen, dass sie das Reglement gelesen haben und akzeptieren.

Für die Anwendung des Reglements ist die Festivalleitung des Serienfestivals Basel zuständig.

Basel, 25. März 2021

The German text is legally authoritative. Place of jurisdiction is Basel, Switzerland
(Translation 22.08.2020 | mz)