home

Series productions not only attract interest in the private sector, but also in the public. The aim of the Basel Series Festival is to show what filmmakers come up with and to bring them into contact with an interested audience and colleagues from Switzerland and abroad.

Why series in the cinema?

Because we will offer them in the best quality, on the big screen and in the comfort of an alternative cinema. Moreover, you can enjoy the unique atmosphere and share the experience with the audience, which is not possible at home on a smartphone or PC. We show all series in the original language with English subtitles.

Does the festival offer more than just the reputation of the series?

Absolutely. They'll have a chance to ask their own questions. There will also be a discussion round at the Humbug Club on the subject of "Serial Narratives".

I do not like thrillers, but is the festival still for me?

The diversity of genres is one of our priorities. That's why we select for you cross-thematic and cross-style series. You can look forward to social dramas, political series or comedies for young people. Do not expect Hollywood productions. Furthermore, we concentrate on productions from Eastern Europe that are not yet in the program of the usual streaming providers (see also  serialkiller.tv).

(Translation 09.07.2020 | deepl)

home

Serienproduktionen stossen nicht nur im Privaten, sondern auch in der Öffentlichkeit auf Interesse. Serienfestival Basel will zeigen, was sich Filmschaffende einfallen lassen und sie in Kontakt mit einem interessierten Publikum und Kolleg*innen aus dem In- und Ausland bringen.

Warum Serien im Kino?

Weil wir sie in der besten Qualität, auf der großen Leinwand und im Komfort eines alternativen Kinos anbieten werden. Ausserdem können Sie die einzigartige Atmosphäre geniessen und die Erfahrung mit dem Publikum teilen, was zu Hause auf einem Smartphone oder PC nicht möglich ist. Wir zeigen alle Serien in der Originalsprache mit englischen Untertiteln.

Bietet das Festival mehr als nur das Ansehen der Serie?

Auf jeden Fall. Sie werden Gelegenheit haben, Ihre eigenen Fragen zu stellen. Zudem gibt es im Humbug Club eine Diskussionsrunde zum Thema «Serielles Erzählen».

Ich mag keine Krimis, ist das Festival trotzdem auch für mich?

Die Vielfalt der Genres ist eine unserer Prioritäten. Deshalb wählen wir für Sie themen- und stilübergreifende Reihen aus. Freuen Sie sich auf Gesellschaftsdramen, politische Serien oder Jugendkomödien. Erwarten Sie keine Hollywood Produktionen. Des Weiteren konzentrieren wir uns auf Produktionen aus Osteuropa, die noch nicht bei den üblichen Streaminganbietern im Programm sind (serialkiller.tv).

(Translation 09.07.2020 | deepl)